McGraw Hill (MH) AI Reader Hits 63 Million Interactions in Digital Textbooks
Summary
McGraw Hill says its AI Reader has logged 63 million interactions across 2.6 million users, but no revenue, renewal or pricing impact has been disclosed.
McGraw Hill (MH) said on its August 13, 2026 earnings call that AI Reader, the AI reading assistant embedded in its digital textbooks, has generated 63 million interactions across 2.6 million users to date [1]. The company has not disclosed any revenue or renewal change from the tool.
What McGraw Hill sells and where AI Reader sits
McGraw Hill is an education content and learning technology company. Its businesses cover K-12 education, higher education and global professional education, and it sells textbooks, digital course platforms and subscription content to schools, colleges, students and professionals. Connect, the main higher education product, is a digital courseware and homework platform used in college courses. The global professional business serves medical students and physicians with products such as First Aid Forward, a medical exam preparation tool, and AccessMedicine, a medical reference platform.
AI Reader is built into these digital texts. When students read assigned course material or complex medical content, they can ask it to explain a concept another way, produce a summary or generate a personalized quiz [2]. Because the tool sits directly in the reader's study workflow, it is a user-facing digital product inside McGraw Hill's core business.
How the AI Reader rollout expanded
AI Reader was already running when it first appeared on the November 17, 2025 earnings call. McGraw Hill said that during back-to-school 2025 it embedded the tool in 600-plus Connect titles and in First Aid Forward for medical students [3].
- February 11, 2026: The company extended AI Reader to medical content in the global professional business, including AccessMedicine [2]. The tool moved from higher education into a second business.
- June 11, 2026: McGraw Hill added translations across 38 languages [4], a feature upgrade to the same tool.
- August 13, 2026: AI Reader expanded to four new pharmacotherapy and pharmacology textbooks [1].
Across all four disclosures, the tool kept the same name and the same reading-support workflow. The changes were in product-line coverage and features.
AI Reader usage numbers use different bases
Usage scale is the clearest result so far, but the reported figures are not measured on a consistent basis. Only two single-quarter readings can be compared directly: 11 million learning interactions in Q2 and 16 million in Q3, for a cumulative 27 million through Q3 [2].
The 57 million learning interactions and 2.4 million students reported on June 11, 2026 came without a stated measurement period [4]. The latest 63 million interactions and 2.6 million users are cumulative to date [1].
McGraw Hill has not defined what counts as an interaction or said whether the user figure is deduplicated. The rise in cumulative interactions from 27 million to 63 million therefore shows continued accumulation of usage. It cannot be converted into a quarterly growth rate, and it cannot show whether learning outcomes improved. In the same passage, management cited a 96% penetration rate among pharmacology physicians without stating the denominator or basis, so that figure cannot be treated as a usage rate for this tool [1].
Possible financial impact remains unquantified
Financially, AI Reader is most likely to affect digital subscription revenue, meaning renewals and pricing for digital products in the higher education and global professional businesses. One possible path: students and professional learners use the digital content more, colleges and individuals have a stronger reason to renew, and the company has a firmer basis for charging separately for AI features.
On the latest call, management said the company charges an additional fee for AI access in some cases [1]. That comment referred to the whole product portfolio and cannot be attributed to AI Reader alone. McGraw Hill has not disclosed any revenue, renewal rate, pricing or margin attributable to the tool. Changes in digital subscription revenue will also reflect enrollment, college purchasing cycles and the company's other AI tools.
What to watch next
What can be confirmed is that AI Reader has expanded from reading support in college courses to professional medical content and has reached meaningful usage scale. Whether it translates into higher renewal rates or premium pricing has not been quantified separately. The next thing to watch is whether McGraw Hill publishes comparison data showing how renewal rates and digital product pricing differ between colleges or courses that use the tool and those that do not.
Application assessment
- AI Reader | Business position: core business | Deployment stage: limited production | Scope: multiple businesses or regions | Value type: revenue growth
Sources
[1] Drillr · McGraw Hill, Inc. (MH) · 2026-08-13 · Earnings call
"Our AI reader alone has scaled to 63 million interactions across 2.6 million users to date."
[2] Drillr · McGraw Hill, Inc. (MH) · 2026-02-11 · Earnings call
"AI Reader reached over 1 million higher education students in Q3, generating 16 million learning interactions, up from 11 million in Q2 for a total of 27 million since inception."
[3] Drillr · McGraw Hill, Inc. (MH) · 2025-11-17 · Earnings call
"During back-to-school 2025, we expanded AI Reader, embedding the tool in 600-plus Connect titles as well as within our First Aid Forward solution for medical students."
[4] Drillr · McGraw Hill, Inc. (MH) · 2026-06-11 · Earnings call
"We've added new accessibility features to AI Reader, including translations across 38 languages."